Indie Stars Glitter with Glory at the Grand Finale of ‘Radio City Freedom Awards 6’


CFA 6, Powered by Skoda witnessed power packed performances by Monica Dogra, Emiway Bantai, Antarman, and DJ Pash

Winners of the 6th edition include names like Sanam, Emiway Bantai Prateek Kuhad and Ankur Tewari amongst others

Radio City, India’s leading radio network, enthralled the indie music enthusiasts at the magnificent grand finale night of Radio City Freedom Awards 6, a one of its kind platform that recognizes, honors and celebrates the essence of independent music across genres and languages. A path towards the grand finale of RCFA 6, espoused India’s indie music talent with 6 LIVE gigs across 6 cities culminating with an award night in Mumbai on 28th March 2019. The scintillating finale in Mumbai witnessed some of the country’s best indie artists and performers like Sanam, Emiway Bantai and Prateek Kuhad, Ankur Tewari bag awards and titles across jury and popular choice categories. The astounding evening celebrated powerhouse performances by Monica Dogra, Emiway Bantai, Antarman, and DJ Pash. A marquee property, Radio City Freedom Awards once again lived up to its repute of recognizing and celebrating talents across the Indie music diaspora.

Radio City Freedom Awards has been fronting the indie revolution of being a platform for aspiring musicians from all parts of the country to showcase their extraordinary talent. The sixth season of RCFA garnered a staggering 1,200 entries across 11 categories including Hip Hop/ Rap, Folk Fusion, Rock, Metal, and Electronica in the music-based categories. As the excitement amongst its fans reached its peak, Radio City witnessed unprecedented participation with overwhelming votes from indie music lovers, which is a true reflection of their loyal fan base and the popularity of this unique property. The non-music categories, screened by the jury included Best Video, Best Album Art, Best Young Indie Artist, Best Indie Collaboration and Indie-Genius: Person of the Year awards.

Amongst winners, Ankur Tewari, the man behind the music supervision of the 18-song soundtrack from the most loved and famed film ‘Gully Boy’ bagged the Skoda Indie-Genius: Person of the Year award. Sanam won The Best Pop Artist (popular choice) award for ‘Itni Door’. The hip hop sensation Emiway Bantai won the Best Hip-Hop Artist (popular choice) for ‘Jump Kar’. Prateek Kuhad was awarded as the Best Pop Artist (Judges Choice) and Best Video (Judges Choice) for ‘Cold/Mess’. RCFA’s checkered list of past winners includes now household names such as Divine, Benny Dayal, Parvaaz, Swarathma, Papon, Midival Punditz, The Ska Vengers, Indus Creed, Dualist Inquiry, Donn Bhatt, and The F16s, to name a few. Radio City Freedom Awards has successfully been India’s only platform to pave way for talent in the indie fraternity to create a mark in the mainstream industry.

Winners of Radio City Freedom Awards 6:

Category Winners
Best Pop Prateek Kuhad – Cold/Mess (Jury Choice)
Sanam – Itni Door (People’s Choice)
Skoda Indie-Genius: Person of the Year Ankur Tewari (Jury Choice)
Best Video Prateek Kuhad – Cold/Mess(Jury Choice)
Best Hip Hop Brodha V – Way Too Easy (Jury Choice)
Emiway Bantai – Jump Kar (People’s Choice)
Best Metal Against Evil – All Hail The King (Jury Choice)
Against Evil – All Hail The King (People’s Choice)
Best Rock The Local Train – Vaaqif (Jury Choice)
Coma Rossi – Turn Back Time (People’s Choice)
Album Art Paradigm Shift – Sammukh ( Jury Choice)
Indie Collaboration VS42 x DeeMC x Siri x Kavya & Kriti – Tu Bas Naach (Jury Choice)
Young Indie Calico – Garnet Eye (Jury Choice)
Best Electronic VS42 x DeeMC x Siri x Kavya & Kriti – Tu Bas Naach (Jury Choice)
Zingaroe – Defuse (People’s Choice)
Best Folk Fusion Agam – Rangapura Vihaara (Jury Choice)
The Thayir Sadam Project – A Crazy Little Thing Called Chakravakam (People’s Choice)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here