India wins 19 medals at the Tokyo Paralympics!


This is the best ever medal tally India has won at the Paralympics!

This is the first time in the history of India that the country has won 19 medals in all at the Paralympics! At the event held in Tokyo, India won 5 gold medals, 8 silver medals and 6 bronze medals, finishing inside the top 25 at the Tokyo Para games! The games started with a silver for Bhavinaben Patel in table tennis. She became the first Indian to win a table tennis medal at the Paralympics.  19 year old Avani Lekhara was the first Indian woman to win gold at the Paralympics, she also went on to win another bronze for India. Here is a full list of winners.


Avani Lekhara – Gold – Women’s 10m Air Rifle Standing SH1
Pramod Bhagat – Gold – Men’s singles SL3 badminton
Krishna Nagar – Gold – Men’s singles SH6 badminton
Sumit Antil – Gold – Men’s Javelin Throw F64
Manish Narwal – Gold – Mixed 50m Pistol SH1

Bhavinaben Patel – Silver – Women’s Singles Class 4 Table Tennis
Singhraj – Silver – Mixed 50m Pistol SH1
Yogesh Kathuniya – Silver – Men’s Discus F56
Nishad Kumar – Silver – Men’s High Jump T47
Mariyappan Thangavelu – Silver – Men’s High Jump T63
Praveen Kumar – Silver – Men’s High Jump T64
Devendra Jhajharia – Silver – Men’s Javelin F46
Suhas Yathiraj – Silver – Men’s Singles Badminton SL4

Avani Lekhara – Bronze – Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions SH1
Harvinder Singh – Bronze – Men’s Individual Recurve Archery
Sharad Kumar- Bronze – Men’s High Jump T63
Sundar Singh Gurjar -Bronze- Men’s Javelin Throw F46
Manoj Sarkar – Bronze – Men’s Singles Badminton SL3
Singhraj – Bronze – Men’s 10m Air Pistol SH1




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here