Police department forms Vishaka panel


The Police department formed a panel to look into complaints of sexual harassment at the workplace and to redress the same. It was formed in accordance with the guidelines laid down by the Supreme Court. The members of the committee include the Additional Director General of Police, Director of the Tamil Nadu State Crime Records Bureau Seema Agarwal, Deputy Inspector General of Police Thenmozhi, Superintendent of Police retired official Saraswathi and a serving administrative officer in the office of the DGP.

There were rumours that the committee was formed as a woman Superintendent of Police had lodged a complaint against a senior police officer accusing him of harassing her. However the top officials in the Police department refuted the same and said that no such complaint was filed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here