Jagdeep Dhankhar takes oath as India’s 14th Vice President


Jagdeep Dhankhar, the former West Bengal Governor, took oath as the 14th Vice President of India today. President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath to him in a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Vice President holds the second highest constitutional office in the country after the President and will act as President in case of death, resignation or removal of the President until a new President is elected.
He will hold a five year term but can continue to hold office irrespective of the expiry of his term until his successor assumes office. The Vice President has all the powers, immunities and privileges of the President. He will also receive the same allowances and emoluments that the President receives.
The Vice President also becomes the chairperson of the Rajya Sabha and he can resign from his post by submitting his resignation to the President of India.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here