Women Safe City Project


Eight cities viz Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Lucknow and Ahmedabad will soon have public panic buttons and all women police patrol teams under a special women safety programme for which the Home Ministry has approved almost Rs 3,000 crores.

Transit dormitories for women and children, smart LED street lights, forensic and cyber crime cells will be part of the Women Safe City Project. The Nirbhaya fund was set up in 2013 for implementation of initiatives to enhance safety and security of women in the country. The Police stations will be equipped with women help desks and counsellors as well. The project is being implemented in consultation with the Ministries of Women and Child Development, Urban Development and Information and Technology, the respective municipalities and police commissioners.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here