Rahul Gandhi to contest from Raebareli


Rahul Gandhi has decided at the last minute that he will contest from Raebareli and not Amethi. The Raebareli seat was vacated by his mother Sonia Gandhi when she moved to the Rajya Sabha recently.

Kishori Lal Sharma, a longtime loyalist of the Gandhi family will contest from Amethi. This decision was taken by the Congress on Friday after weeks of suspense.
Both candidates will file their papers today as it’s the last day for filing nominations for the fifth phase of elections to be held on May 20.
Rahul is expected to hold a roadshow before filing his nomination papers. Kishori Lal Sharma will take on Union Minister Smriti Irani of the BJP. Smriti Irani won the Amethi seat in 2019 and is all set to defend the seat.
Meanwhile Priyanka’s decision not to contest the election can add to the discomfiture of the party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here