Jammu and Kashmir split up


The Narendra Modi government has revoked Article 370 of the Constitution which gave a special status to Jammu and Kashmir. A bill to split the State into two Union Territories- Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh was passed with 125 votes in favour of the split and 61 against it.

The government felt that Article 370 was the root cause for terrorism in the valley. Amit Shah pointed out that there was no need for a constitutional amendment as the President had already signed an executive order to abrograte Article 370. Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Ministers Mehbooba Mufti and Omar Abdullah who were kept under house arrest have been arrested. Meanwhile Pakistan reacted angrily to the Indian government’s move to bifurcate the State and said that they would take all possible steps to counter the same. They might even approach the United Nations Security Council or even the International Court of Justice.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here