ICC Announces Player Of The Decade Award Nominees


ICC has announced the player of the decade awards and Team India captain Virat Kohli has been nominated in 5 categories. In the ICC decade awards, Kohli has featured in the topmost category and also in the ODI, T20I, Test player of the decade, and also in the Spirit of the cricket award category. Rohit Sharma and former captain MS Dhoni are named in the ODI category.

The biggest category- the ICC Player of the Decade award features two Indians Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin. This era is rightfully known as the era of the ‘Fab Four’ as Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, Joe Root and Kohli have been named in the nominations list of 7 cricketers. The two others to be named in the list are former South Africa captain and legendary batsman AB de Villiers and another thorough legend, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

Here are the other categories:

ODI Player of the Decade: This category includes 3 Indians -Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and MS Dhoni. Others are Lasith Malinga (SL), Mitchell Starc (AUS), AB de Villiers (SA), and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

Test Player of the Decade: Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, James Anderson (ENG), Rangana Herath (SL), and Yasir Shah (PAK) have been nominated for the Test Player of the Decade award.

Nominations for the Men’s T20I Player of the Decade: Rashid Khan (AFG), Kohli, Imran Tahir (SA), Aaron Finch (AUS), Malinga, Chris Gayle (WI), and Rohit Sharma (IND).

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade: Virat Kohli (IND), Kane Williamson (NZ), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK), MS Dhoni, Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Katherine Brunt (ENG), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), and Daniel Vettori (NZ) have been nominated.

All categories and nominations are up on the ICC website and the winners will be decided based on the number of votes a player receives.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here