Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal re-elected to ATP players council


Tennis legends Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal who are ranked second and fifth in the world rankings have been re-elected to the ATP players council and their term runs upto June 2022. Other players who were re-elected include Canadian Felix Auger Alissime, Australian John Millman, South African Kevin Anderson, Britain Andy Murray and Brazilian Bruno Soares. Gilles Simon from France returns to the council after having served previous terms.

Newcomers Pablo Andujar from Spain and Marcus Daniell from New Zealand will serve their first term. Briton Colin Dowdeswell and Venezuelan Daniel Vallverdu were elected as representatives of retired players and coaches respectively. The President and Vice-President of the council will be elected at the first meeting in 2021.It was earlier presided over by world No 1 Novak Djokovic who broke away in August to establish a new players association to include women players as well.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here