Indian Oil Corporation retains its championship

Indian Oil Corporation retains its championship title in the


Beats Army XI  team 3-2

Defending champions Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) teamemerged victorious in the finals of the 89th All India MCC Murugappa Hockey Tournament, beating past-title-holder Army XI, with a final score of 3-2, and retained the heard-earned title of the Champions of the 89th MCC Murugappa Hockey Tournament in Chennai.

As the winning team, Indian Oil Corporation takes home the prize money of Rs 5.00 lakhs, and the runner-up team Army XI receives Rs 2.50 lakhs. (This year’s tournament prize amount was increased from the earlier sums of Rs 2.50 lakhs and Rs 1.50 lakhs respectively).

Mr. RS Sokhi had officiated as the Tournament Director and was assisted by a team of outstation and local officials.

The Final match was a well-attended affair, with Mr. Arun Murugappan and Mr. MM Murugappan and others from the Murugappa Group.Office-bearers of the Madras Cricket Club,including Mr.Ajit Kumbhat, President, Mr. Srivatsan Subramaniam, Vice President,Mr. R Ramesh, Honorary Treasurerand Mr. Vijay Kumar, Organising Secretary, along with the others members of Madras Cricket Club, participated in the final tournament, which had the hockey aficionados cheering the teams from the stands.